My Favorite Time of Day

***DISCLAIMER***

The following story was completely made up for the purpose of creating a character using the methods of characterization we learned. Any similarities to real people, places, or conversation are completely coincidental.  

 

***WARNING***

The story you are about to read is extremely cheesy and short. You might want it to go on longer, and you might want it to be over sooner. It just depends on what kind of story you like.

 

My Favorite Time of Day

By Erin Bell

 

“Want me to help you with those?” He asked.

“Thanks Dean, they were getting heavy.” I say with a gasp, as he grabs my books.

“Oh, no problem. I would do this anytime.” he says back, although he looks slightly strained.

Today, the sun was out and the weather was definitely preferable. I look over at Dean, and he is breathtaking. His eyes look like emeralds, and his long, wavy hair in the sunlight is shining. It’s a beautiful sun-kissed blonde. I love walking home with him from school every day. Finally, September is here, and the long walks home came with it. Just as I was admiring him, he looked over, and I quickly looked away.

“What are you thinking about?” he asked, and I looked back up at him. He is looking deep into my eyes. I love it when he does this, because I know he’s really listening.

“Nothing–” I say a little too quickly, so I come back with, “I just love the weather when it’s like this. It’s perfect.”

“I find it enjoyable. Hey Faith, can I ask you something?”

“Yeah, of course. What’s up?”

“Well, you know that new girl Darcy? She’s a junior, like me, so I don’t know if a sophomore like you would know her–”

I interrupted and said smugly, “Yes, I do know her. Darcy Maltrie, the really pretty one, right?” I’m very curious as to why he’s talking about her. “What about her?”

“Well, I was thinking about her, and we’re in a lot of the same classes, and we actually sit by each other in three of them, and she keeps talking to me, and we have the same lunch, and–” I cut him off again.

“Dean Emmett Ami, do you have a crush? Does Dean finally have a crush on a girl?” I tease         , even though I desperately hope he’ll say no.

Ever since we were climbing trees in my backyard to the time he held me when my father passed away last year, Dean and I have always been best friends. We have both lived in this small town our whole life, right next door to each other. Our parents’ have had us walking to school together ever since I started school, because my parents didn’t want me walking to school alone. I love being best friends with him, and sometimes, I feel like I should protect him from things, because I don’t want to see him get hurt.

“I guess you could call it that, but I think it’s more than a crush. She’s cute, and nice, and funny, and… well I wanted to ask you if you think it’s a good idea to ask her out on a date.”

As he said this, he started blushing. For some reason, that infuriated me, so I told him, “Well, I think it’s really great that you’re taking interest in someone, but, Darcy? I don’t know Dean…”

“Why? I think it’d be great! But, I think you know me best, and if you can give me a valid reason why I shouldn’t, then I won’t.” He paused for a few seconds to allow me to think, and then he said, “Well?”

“Well, um, she’s a Cancer and you’re a Libra. The magazine I read last night said that those Zodiac Signs are totally not compatible.” Personally, I thought this was a very clever response.

“Okay, that is definitely not a valid reason to not go on a date with someone. Is there a real reason you don’t want me to go out with her?”

“Not really.” I said, turning away. I am so afraid that he won’t know what he’s getting into, and he won’t keep his options open, and then he’ll get hurt, but I can’t tell him that.

“Okay, well, if you can’t think of anything, I’m going to do it. I’m going to call her right up and say, ‘Hey Darcy! Are you doing anything on Saturday night?’ and it’ll go great from there.” He looks off into the sky as he says this, and I can see the whole thing playing out in his head.

“Yeah, you’re right, and I’m sorry for trying to stop you. It’ll be fun, and you’ll have to tell me all about it!” I exclaim, and feel like I sound too excited. I definitely overcompensated for telling him not to ask her out.

“I’ll be sure to do that. Well, here are your books, and I had a nice time walking with you, as always. See you later.” And with a wave a smile, he turns on his heel and walks into his house.

I wonder why he wants to go on a date with her. I mean, she’s very pretty, and she’s his age, but he has never been interested in someone before. So why does he choose her? Why does he choose now? I just realized how long I’d just been standing outside the house. I should probably go in.

 

 

 

 

 

It’s Monday morning, and I have been dying to know how his date with Darcy Maltrie went. I’m sure it went fine, considering Dean is so nice, stunning, and charming.

“Hey Faith!” he called.

“Hey Dean!” I called back with a smile. I was waiting for him at the end of my driveway, like I do every day, and I am never late. When he walked up, he automatically grabbed my books for me without even asking. We both turn and start making our way towards the school.

“I told you I’d tell you all about my date with Darcy. But I’m not really sure I want to.” As he said this, my mind starts racing. He must have had a really great time. She must have been a lot more fun than me if he won’t tell me about it.

“Well why not? You told me that she said yes, and you told me when and where, but why can’t you tell me how it went?” That must have sounded really desperate.

“It just wasn’t very great. I told her that I’d be there at six ‘o’ clock Saturday night, and she wasn’t ready until about six forty five. Then, she decided that we were going to get Mexican food instead of pizza, because pizza was too cheap. She complained the whole time about how heavy her purse was, and how cold she was, even after I offered my jacket and I was left in a tee shirt. I got her home right on time, and do you want to know what she said? Well I am going to tell you what she said. She said ‘Really? Right on time? Who does that? You are such a goody two-shoes, and I can’t see it working out.’ I told her to have a nice night, and that was that.”

He actually seemed upset about it. I felt bad for him, and couldn’t think of anything else to do but hug him.

“Oh, Dean, I’m sorry, that sounds awful.” I was tempted to say I told you so! But I could tell that now was just not the time. “She obviously just didn’t see how lucky she got, and she totally blew it.”

We break from our embrace and continue walking, him slightly in front of me. We walk in silence for a couple of minutes, but I break it by saying, “You do know that any girl would be lucky to have you, right?” I started blushing as I said this, but I really wish I hadn’t. I hate blushing; it gives away any emotions you might be trying to hide.

Dean looks over and says with a slight smile, “You really think so? Do you think you’re lucky to have me?”

“Of course! You’re the best friend anyone could even hope for.” I said quickly. I didn’t want to say anything I’d regret.

“Well any guy would be lucky to have you by his side, you know that? When I say any guy, I mean any guy.”

I laughed at this and said, “Kind of like you do?” and continued laughing, because I was totally kidding.

“Um, sort of… You’re my best friend. Because you’re my best friend, tell me what you’re thinking right now.” His face remains straight, poker-like.

My giggling fades out as I say, “Um, I don’t know. That I’m glad we’re best friends. Why? What are you thinking right now?”

“I was thinking about how beautiful you are… and how sometimes, I secretly wish that we’d be more than best friends.” I looked up at him as he said this, and we stopped walking. He continued, “I was thinking about how I was sick of hoping you’d want to be more than best friends also, and I went on a date with a girl who I barely knew, to try to stop those feelings.”

I had no idea what to say. Dean and I had always been best friends and always will be. I want to tell him that he’s the best guy I have ever met. I want to tell him that I have felt the same way for a long time. I want to tell him the real reason why I didn’t want him to go on a date with Darcy. I want to tell him how insanely happy I am that he just said all of that. Just then, he interrupted my thoughts.

“Are you going to say something soon? Because I’m getting the feeling that this is going to get really awkward really fast if you don’t feel the same way, like I’d hoped.”

Instead of saying all of the things I’d like to say, I kissed him on the cheek. I took my eyes away from his, saw the smile on his face, grabbed his hand, and we continued on our way.

“You still haven’t said anything. Since you lied the first time, can you tell me what you’re thinking right now?” Dean said, looking down at me.

“I’m thinking about how we’re going to be late to school!” I said laughing, as he laughed with me. Together we started talking, laughing, and running… hand in hand.

And that’s when the bus came. That’s how Faith died that day. Dean ended his life 70 years later with Darcy by his side and 6 kids.

The End.

One thought on “My Favorite Time of Day

Leave a comment