Reflection On Poetry

I’ve had a great time with the poetry unit. I really enjoy learning about poetry and it’s so fun being able to write it. Poetry displays raw emotions in a complex way. Although that may seem like a bit of an oxymoron… it’s true. 

That’s why this poetry slam is hard for me. It is personal, but impersonal all at once. While I am relating it to a personal experience, it is an experience that many have been through and that many can relate to. It feels odd to know that I will be bearing my heart to our english class. Not that I’m worried, because we have an awesome class and what not… but it’s just an odd feeling to me because it is so raw.

Poetry is raw. If there’s one thing I learned from writing my own poem and displaying it for the class, it’s that it’s hard to display such raw emotions. While the class may not understand it (or anyone for that matter), to me, the poem is very obvious, forward, and open.

But based on the discussions that we’ve had in class, I know that the poem’s intent is not always so visible. Everyone interprets a poem based on their own experiences and own opinions of why an author wrote what they wrote. So it’s interesting to be on the other side of it, feeling so incredibly vulnerable! 

Anyways, those are just some thoughts that I have on what we’ve done on poetry so far this year. I’m looking forward to continuing to read poetry.

Leave a Reply

