And I’ve Been Hired! (FC)

I am a new me.

No, seriously. I am a new person; finally living that adult lifestyle that seems so dreamy.

I mean, I turned eighteen and I voted. I felt as though I should continue my streak of growing up as I continue to apply for colleges and plan out my next 4-5 years.

I am officially a team member at Kohl’s!

While I have only been hired seasonally… it’s a start, right?

My first “event” with them is a training/orientation on Tuesday. While it’s crazy to think that from that day on, I will most likely be working for the rest of my life, I am excited. I’m excited to do something that many kids begin doing long before they’re 18. I’m so incredibly blessed knowing that there were a full 18 years of my life that were not spent with any sort of official job or title. But let that resonate for a moment. from 18-65… I will be working.

That’s 47 years. 47 YEARS. AT LEAST. That is how much longer I will be in the workforce, one way or another. Tuesday marks a day of adulthood that I have yet to enter until now. It’s even crazier to know that while many begin working as minors… I did not. I never had special limitations on how employers treat me or what hours I can work compared to everyone else. I will always be an adult. How weird is that?!?

Well anyways, now that I’m living that life, I will be busy. Yes, it worries me sometimes. But I know myself… and I know that I can do it. I know that I can juggle everything. My biggest concern is that I will stop giving 100% in everything because I’m so concerned about being sufficient in everything that I’m doing. That’s what happened junior year. I was so swamped that I was forced to be content with doing things sufficiently instead of exceedingly. But I’m determined to stop that from happening.

I guess the only way to do that is to realize that there is no way I will ever achieve “perfect” in anything. I’m only human! So I won’t strive to be perfect. But I will continue to strive to do my best, and shake off the pressure of perfect. I’m super excited to be working, finally, and excited to continue striving to do my best in my senior year… and it shall be good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

