No Regrets, Not This Time (FC)

“…gotta let my heart defeat my mind. Let your love, make me whole, I think I’m finally feeling something.
Cause just okay’s not enough, help me fight through the nothingness of this life
I don’t wanna go through the motions, I don’t wanna go one more day…” – Matthew West

These lyrics are truly speaking to me today. These last few months or so has been a blur of football games, youth group, college applications, birthdays, homework, SAT stress, and the constant feeling that my room is never truly clean, which is an extremely irritating feeling.

I’ve taken notice of my fall into habit and routine. This daily going-through-the-motions feeling is endless and I guess it’s put me in sort of a funk. No, I am not unhappy. In fact, I am extremely happy and cannot count my blessings enough. I thank God daily for the enriched life I’ve been given with a solid family and solid friends. I have nothing to complain about. But I’ve been letting my blessings pass me by much too quickly.

To truly appreciate something takes time, and time is something that I don’t consider myself to have a lot of. There are things that I already do to fill up every single minute of every single day; I’ve utilized the opportunities that I’ve been graciously given, not wanting to waste a second of time. In doing so, I am living life to the fullest, or so I would like to think. It’s becoming more and more obvious to me that I am appreciating things less and less because I have such an abundance of things to appreciate. I spend all of the time available to me by being active in my blessings.

When I was younger, I was over at my grandmother’s house a couple of times during the week, minimally. It felt as though I was over there all of the time, and the convenience of a free, experienced babysitter living five minutes from our home appealed to our parents, so grandma’s house became the norm whenever my parents had to do something or go somewhere. Walking down the long, wood floor hallway, my eyes would focus on the frame containing a beautiful embroidered message at the end of the hallway. In various pinks and reds, she had sewn the words, “take time to smell the roses.” Take time to smell the roses.

 

 

Roses are beautiful, elegant, and have a wonderful scent. Surrounding a rose is a dangerous protective layer of thorns and leaves, guarding the precious flowers while daring whoever is around to come over and attempt to enjoy the beauty of the flowers. It takes time to work around the thorns, and it takes time to appreciate the soft petals and warm fragrance. The theme of this process is that it TAKES TIME. It’s impossible to even know what to appreciate if the time has never been taken to discover anything with awestruck wonder.

I’m done going through the motions and doing all that I’m supposed to without really thinking about it. If I’m not taking time to appreciate all that I have, is it really appreciated at all? For I am utilizing these blessings, which is a form of appreciation, but I am not doing them with gusto, or with appreciation in mind. I’m simply doing  things… and I’m done with that. Starting now.

Smell the flowers.

Take the time.

2 thoughts on “No Regrets, Not This Time (FC)

Leave a Reply

