Taking A Stab At That Poetry Life (FC)

So as many of you know, I compete in a poetry recitation contest titled Poetry Out Loud. This contest has completely shifted my perspective on poetry and poets and I have such a huge appreciation for it. Poetry is hard. It’s also beautiful. And raw. And honest. I’d like to someday be able to express myself in beautiful poetry (or songwriting, for that matter) but for now, I’ll give you all a glimpse of my shot in the dark.

Magnificence lurks where you do not seek,
My friend, your shoes are thin.
Sometimes you must think before you speak.
When speaking to others, you may choose critique,
Remember that others do not come from your life, your kin.
Magnificence lurks where you do not seek.

You cannot cause someone to become meek,
They are not living a life of sin;
Sometimes you must think before you speak.
Your negativity has sanguinely reached a peak,
And it’s time to find a positive stoke within.
Magnificence lurks where you do not seek.

Do you not see yourself as beautiful? Unique?
You are better than your actions have been,
Sometimes you must think before you speak.
Let that you shine through in a glorious streak.
You’re worth so much more and you need to begin.
Magnificence lurks where you do not seek.
Sometimes you must think before you speak.

So there’s my shot at a villanelle poem. You can dissect it if you’d like, but it’s funny to think that you may see it different than I do. Hope you liked it!

3 thoughts on “Taking A Stab At That Poetry Life (FC)

  1. My guess would have to be that you’re saying that we all have talents and unique qualities but they can only be fulfilled when we choose to explore them. It was a very, very lovely poem. 🙂 But, Erin your background?!?

Leave a Reply

