The Root Angle (CRR)

As of late, I don’t read literature a lot. I used to constantly have my nose in a book and have a book with me everywhere I went. High school kind of ruined that for me, with my crazy schedules and consistent lack of sleep. The only time that I have recognized myself to be reading is to grow myself as a person or to grow my knowledge of the world around me.

I am totally a non-fiction kind of girl. As much as I love fiction, I love non-fiction even more. Reading books on spirituality, reading the bible, or reading the news are my favorite things. Generally, most people find this kind of odd, and then there’s the occasional person who agrees. These types of writing really get me thinking and really change me. They help me form my roots about life and opinions about the world around me.

I’ve been trying to apply this to literature. It totally applies, if I let it! Looking at a character’s life and empathizing with them, learning with them, and adding their circumstance to our repertoire of memories DOES help to grow. After reading Harry Potter, it was always and obvious duh that I should  “follow the spiders” to get what I want. Sometimes doing the scariest things life are exactly what need to happen to make life better. As I read Twilight, I can recognize that I never ever ever want to be a part of that couple. Certain themes or ideas constantly jump out at me and help shape the way I live my life because generally I can see how these themes already fit with how I am living and they remind me of my roots.

I’m trying to get back into reading more. I truly do miss it and I wish that there were more than 24 hours in the day. Getting back into growing my roots through reading is necessary to continue to grow as a person. If I didn’t do this, I would be stagnant and stay at 17 forever… and NOBODY wants a 17 year old Erin around forever. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

