My Bad, Yo. Summer Reading Assignment… (CRR)

Soooo I’ve been real busy this summer… and I’ve actually been out of town at Young Life camp with no cell service, internet service, or down time this last month, prior to that, I was out of town for two week with camps and trips and what not (also with no down time) so I’m ashamed and embarrassed to inform all of you that I did not read any books from that lit list. 

Don’t hate me, Ms. Allyn! The only reason I feel okay saying this is because it’s the honest truth. Going along with this honesty thing, I may as well add that I almost almost almost spark noted a few books and their themes, but decided honesty was the best policy even if it’s not my proudest moment.

Because the assignment is to post about the themes of the books we’ve read to prep for AP lit, at least I can do half of that and post about the themes of books I’ve read. I hope it’s okay for me to post about biblical books because that’s what my nose has been in for the last month. 

So 1 Peter is a book in the New Testament of  the Bible. 1 Peter was written by the apostle Saint Peter. The biggest theme I found within this book was Peter describing Christian persecution, and how to handle it. He warns us of suffering we may endure for being followers of Christ. Peter was also adamant about ideas of love and serving in a Christ-like way, regardless of the social suffering. This was a helpful book to be reading while I was serving at Young Life camp because these themes are very helpful. Oh, side note, I’m sorry if some of my posts seem too churchy for some people. This is who I am and how I am but I’m sorry if you don’t like it. Don’t feel obligated to read it. Anyways, 1 Peter 4:8 is one of my favorite bible verses, “Above all, love each other deeply because love covers over a multitude of sins.” and I find it beautiful because in the end, love wins, and that’s one thing that peter makes clear throughout this book. 

Another book I read was Wicked… kind of… I haven’t completed that one yet… but I’m getting through it and a theme that is fairly developed so far is the idea of good and bad being in everything and everyone; good and evil are a huge gray area. So far, it seems as though neither will win in the end, which is a fun twist. Generally, predictable books end with “good” coming out on top, and really good books end with “evil” coming out on top. With Wicked, it seems like neither will have a distinct win in the resolution. 

I feel bad that I didn’t read any of the books I was supposed to have read by now, but I’ll try to read one before school starts because technically it’s still summer… it just so happened that this particular blog post was due before I did the summer reading… whoops! Still can’t wait to see y’all. Oh and Ms. Allyn… text me. Hehehe

2 thoughts on “My Bad, Yo. Summer Reading Assignment… (CRR)

  1. Ha! Thank you for being honest. And I’m glad you didn’t sparknote anything because that is just flat-out lame. I think it is totally appropriate that you looked at the Bible as literature. I took a Bible as Lit course in college and it was very interesting!

Leave a Reply

